Sunday, August 14, 2011

I feel bad about myself because I can't do math?

I have discalculia (learning disability) and am very slow at math. I'm a university student and taking a remedial algebra course, and I can't grasp the course material. I've tried talking to the professor but she is no help. She just says I need to work harder and study more. I go to the library and pour over the book for hours, trying to figure out problems, and most of the time I still won't understand and I'll get frustrated with myself and think I'm stupid. Is there any way I can get better at math without crying or ripping my hair out every time I try to study?

No comments:

Post a Comment